#### Minutes of the Second Business Meeting IMA, Florence, Wednesday 25th of August 2004 Room 25

Hour: 12H-13H

Councillors present: Ian Parsons, President in the chair Takamitsu Yamanaka and Nicolai Yushkin, Vice-Presidents,

Tony Naldrett (Past-President),

Maryse Ohnenstetter (Secretary), Ian Campbell, Marcello Mellini.

# Country - Balloting power - Delegates present

Argentina	1	
Australia	3	
Austria	3	Ekkehart Tillmanns, F. Koller, G. Hoinkes
Belgium	1	, ,
Brazil	1	
Bulgaria	1	Yotzo Yanev
Canada	4	Robert Martin
China	3	?????
Croatia	1	Vladimir Bermanec
Czech Republic	1	Karel Breiter
Denmark	1	
Egypt	1	
Finland	1	
France	4	G. Calas, C. Chopin
Germany	5	Jörg Erzinger, Wolfgang Hofmeister, Axel
		Liebscher, HW Hubberten, HJ Massone
Greece	1	Maria Vlahou
Hungary	1	Tamas Weiszburg
Israël	1	
Italy	3	Stefano Merlino, Scandale, E. Bonecorsi
Japan	4	Enjoji Mamoru
Korea	1	
Netherlands	1	
New Zealand	1	
Norway	1	Nigel Cook
Poland	1	
Portugal	1	
Romania	2	Alexandru Szakacs, Corina Ionescu
Russia	5	N. Bortnikov, AM. Askhabov, DY.
		Pushcharovsky, Korhchag
Slovakia	1	Martin Chovan
South Africa	2	
Spain	2	E. Galan
Sweden	2	
Switzerland	2	
Ukrainia	1	
United Kingdom	4	F. Wall, Alan Wooley, Hilary Downes
USA	5	C. Prewitt, GV. Gibbs, HCW. Skinner

Alternates: Radostina Atanassova, Bulgaria; Wolfgang Hofmeister, Germany; Peter Andras, Slovakia.

## 1. Welcome by President Ian Parsons

The new IMA logo, selected by the Council among the 16 submitted, was on the screen as delegates entered. The President welcomed the delegates present at the meeting. He informed that the winner is a young scientist from Italy:

Sabrina Nazzareni Sabrina Nazzareni, PhD Dipartimento Scienze della Terra Piazza Università 1 06100 Perugia

Sabrina Nazzareni will receive 200 \$US. In addition, she will be given free registration for the 19th IMA General Meeting to be held in Kobe, Japan, from 23-28 July, 2006, plus free standard accommodation.

## 2 and 3 Roll call of the Delegates and Report of the Auditing Committee

The President noted that the roll call of the delegates had been taken at the door, and that no auditing committee was required. The practice would be to carry out the full auditing procedure at the General Meeting of IMA.

## 4. Election of Officers for some Working Groups for the period 2004-2006

Delegates approved the following officers for some commissions and working groups for the period 2004-2006:

- Commission on Gem Materials: Dr Lin Sutherland (The Australian Museum, Sydney) as Vice-Chairman
- ✓ Working Group on Astromineralogy: Prof. Frans Rietmeijer (University of New Mexico, Albuquerque, USA) as chairman
- ✓ Working Group on Environmental Mineralogy: Prof. David Vaughan (University of Manchester, Great Britain) as chairman
- ✓ Working Group on Inclusions in Minerals: Prof. Mamoru Enjoji (Waseda University, Japan) as vice-chairman.

## 5. Voting on the place of the 20th General Meeting of IMA in 2010

Delegates voted by card on the two proposals for the IMA General meeting in 2010. The delegates voted in favor of the proposal of Austria, Hung aria, Romania and Slovakia for a meeting to be hold in Budapest:

- 44 in favor of the Carpathian-pannonian proposal
- 4 for Paris
- no abstaining.

The meeting chairman will be Professor Ekkehart Tillmanns, University of Vienna. Professor Yotzo Yanev from the University of Bulgaria proposed to organize excursion in Bulgaria.

#### 6. Other Business

- 6.1. Payment of dues The President considered again the three countries that were substantially in arrears with payment of dues. Recalling the constitution, he indicated that countries, which are in arrears of two years, should lose their right of voting. The President added that the Council would like to know why these countries do not pay. The council was just informed that Croatia was in a position to pay immediately. No delegate of Egypt is present in Florence. The IMA council will consider the case of Israel the day after.
- <u>6.2. New member of IMA</u> The president reported that Professor Rustam Koneev of the National University of Uzbekistan has requested that Uzbekistan be admitted to

membership of IMA. Uzbekistan was therefore welcomed into IMA, subject to payment of dues<sup>1</sup>.

## 7. Closing by President Ian Parsons.

The president thanked again the Delegates present at the meeting and closed the business meeting of IMA. The next ones will occur in Japan.

Attached document : The IMA logo designed by Sabrina Nazzareni Sabrina Nazzareni Sabrina Nazzareni, PhD Dipartimento Scienze della Terra Piazza Università 1 06100 Perugia



<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> The official request was received just before the second business meeting. The Mineralogical Society of Uzbekistan was created in 2003 by the National Geological Committee of Uzbekistan.