IMA

Commission on Physics of Minerals (CPM) Annual report for the year 2006

Report of CPM activity in 2006: 2006/11/15

1. Commision of Physics of Minerals

The current officers of the CPM (http://www.sbg.ac.at/min/welcome.htm) is Georg Amthauer (georg.amthauer@sbg.ac.at) as a Chair, Eiji Ohtani (ohtani@mail.tains.tohoku.ac.jp) as Vice-Chairman and Daniel Neuville (neuville@ipgp.jussieu.fr) as Secretary

Besides the three Officers, the commission has 9 members.

2. Overall objectives of the Com./WG

The Commission on Physics of Minerals was established for the promotion of the application of modern solid state physics to minerals at low and high temperatures as well as at high pressures by workshop, conferences and publications.

3. Chief accomplishments in 2006

- (1) CPM played following active roles in international and local meetings during 2005-2006. CPM organized and convened sessions in the following meetings:
- 1) At the AGU2005 fall meeting (San Francisco, Dec.5-9, 2005), a session on Molten Earth: Liquid in the Earth's Interior was organized b Agee and Stixrude, and Ohtani was made an invited talk on Melt Crystal density crossover in the Earth;
- 2) CPM organized also several sessions, High Pressure Earth Science and Physics and Chemistry of Earth's Minerals at the 2006 annual meeting of JPGU (Japan Geoscience Union) held on 14th –18th, May, 2006, Makuhari, Chiba).
- 3) CPM involved session planning of 2006IMA-Kobe meeting as a member of the organizing committee and program committee as follows: CPM submitted five proposed sessions on Mineral Physics for the IMA2006Kobe meeting (23th-28th July, 2006), and sponsored two mineral physics sessions; Mineralogy and dynamics of the mantle and core (Convened by Bass, Hirose, Ohtani, Rubie) amd Structure and physical properties of melts and glasses (Convened Neuville) by Henderson, Kanzaki, Neuville) and is going to make an invited talk.
- 4) CPM also took an initiative by convening a session on perovskite and post-perovskite and mantle dynamics (E. Ohtani convened, and acted as a session) in 2006 Goldschmidt conference held in Melbourne (27th August-1st September, 2006).
- 5) MSA short course was held at Verbania on 1st-4th, October, 2006, Italy. This meeting was organized by Hans Keppler and Joe Smyth. Ohtani made an invited lecture from CPM on the effect of water on mantle phase transitions.
- (2) Administration Business Meeting: CPM made a business meeting at 2006IMA Kobe meeting, Kobe, Japan, and discussed the details of the sessions to be proposed for the IGC 2008 Oslo meeting. CPM submit three proposed sessions on High Pressure Mineral Physics (Convened by Ohtani), Glass and melt (convened by , and spectroscopy in the IGC Oslo meeting,
- (3) <u>Bulletins, News, and Website:</u> Website of CPM is established in 2003 and continuously maintained for communication of the members.

Publication: A member of CPM (Ohtani) organized a GSA Monograph book "Advance in High Pressure Mineralogy" containing 13 review papers on high pressure mineral physics following the IMA session

held in 2004 IGC Florence meeting. The book is officially accepted as GSA monograph No. 421 on 13th August, and will be appeared in March-April, 2007.

4. Workplan for 2007

Website: Website will be renewed and report updated new information of the forthcoming related meetings to be held in the world.

Publication and Books - Special publication: Advance in High Pressure Mineralogy (edited by E. Ohtani) was accepted for publication as GSA monograph volume No. 421, and will be distributed in March or April, 2007.

For the forthcoming meetings,

- 1) 2006AGU fall meeting 11-15th Dec. 2006 at San Francisco: MR13A: Composition and Dynamics of Earth's Mantle: Current Frontiers and Grand Challenges in Elasticity, Phase Transitions, and Rheology Studies (Oral) is organized by Lin, Ohtani, Prewitt, Bass, Karato,
- 2) Amorphous materials: properties, structure and durability, Convenor: Daniel Neuville (Paris; neuville@ipgp.jussieu.fr). Co-convenors: Grant Henderson (Toronto; henders@geology.utoronto.ca), Donald Dingwell (Munich; dingwell@uni-muenchen.de) in Frontiers in Mineral Sciences, Cambridge, 26-28. June. 2007. Mineralogical Society meeting
- 3) 2007 HPMPS-7 (7th High Pressure Mineral Physics meeting) is organized by Andrault, Brown, Ohtani (Chair), Rubie, and Wang on 8th-12th, May, at Matsushima, Japan.
- 4) 2007 JPGU (Japan Geoscience union) annual meeting will be held at Makuhari, Chiba, Japan on 19-24th, May, 2007. CPM organizes two sessions on High Pressure Earth Science and Physics and Chemistry of Earth's Minerals in this JPGU meeting.

5 List of Officers and National Representatives

The current officers of the CPM (http://www.sbg.ac.at/min/welcome.htm) is Georg Amthauer (georg.amthauer@sbg.ac.at) as a Chair, Eiji Ohtani as Vice-Chairman

(ohtani@mail.tains.tohoku.ac.ip) and Daniel Neuville as Secretary (neuville@ipgp.jussieu.fr). Besides the three Officers, the commission has 9 members.

Georg AMTHAUER (Chairman)

Institut fuer Mineralogie, Universitaet Salzburg, Hellbrunnerstrasse 34, A-5020 Salzburg Tel: ++43-662-8044-5402; Fax: ++43-662-8044-622; E-mail: Georg.Amthauer@mh.sbg.ac.at Eiji OHTANI (Vice-Chairman),

Department of Earth Material Science, Graduate School of Science, Tohoku University, Aoba Sendai 980-8578, Japan, TEL +81-22-217-6662, FAX +81-22-217-6675, E-mail: ohtani@mail.tains.tohoku-u.ac.jp

Daniel NEUVILLE (Secretary),

Laboratoire de Physique des Géomateriaux, CNRS-EUMR7046

Institut de Physique du Globe, 4 place jussieu, 75252 Paris Cedex 05, E-mail:

neuville@ipgp.jussieu.fr

Hans ANNERSTEN,

Department of Earth Sciences, University of Uppsala, Villavägen 16

SE 752 36 Uppsala, Phone: 46 (0)18 471 2550, Fax: 46 (0)18 471 2591, e-mail: Hans.

Annersten@geo.uu.se

Michael GAFT.

Physics Group, The Open University of Israel, 16 Klausner Street, P.O. Box 39328

Tel Aviv 61392, Tel: 972-3-6460549; Fax: 972-3-6465465, e-mail: michael@oumail.openu.ac.ill

Ahmed H. HASHAD, Nuclear Materials Authority, Maadi, Qattamyia, Cairo, E-mail: ahvhashad@hotmail.com

J. MARKGRAAF,

Dept Of Metallurgical Engineering, Potchefstroom University, Potchefstroom, 2520

Nancy ROSS,

Department of Geological Sciences, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, Blacksburg, VA 24061-0240; Tel: (540) 231-6356; Fax: (540) 231-3386; E-mail: nross@vt.edu

Silvio Roberto Farias VLACH

Institute of geosciences, University of Sao-Paulo, Rua do Lago 562, 05508-900 São Paulo; 1.: 55 113818 3998; Fax: 55 11 3818 4258; E-mail: srfvlach@usp.br

Takamitsu YAMANAKA (Prof. Yamanaka is the next president of IMA, and a member will be replaced, please confirm!)

Department of Earth and Space Science, Osaka University, Machikaneyama-cho 1-1, Toyonaka 560-0043; TEL,FAX +81-6-6850-5793; E-mail: yamanaka@hpc.cmc.osaka-u.ac.jp